Page Links
Bank Street
May 18

2017 Irma Black Award and Cook Prize Ceremony

  • Dates
    Thursday, May 18, 2017 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
  • Location
    Bank Street College of Education 610 West 112th Street, New York NY, 10025
  • Tickets
  • Tagged

Event Description

Please join us at Bank Street College to celebrate the winners of the annual Irma Black Award and Cook Prize. The wonderful Stephen Savage, author and illustrator of Polar Best Morning and Where's Walrus, will be our keynote speaker.

This year's finalists for the Irma Black Award are:

Quackers, written and illustrated by Liz Wong (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
The Night Gardener, written and illustrated by the Fan Brothers (Simon and Schuster)
Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion, written and illustrated by Alex T. Smith (Scholastic Press)
A Hungry Lion or a Dwindling Assortment of Animals, written and illustrated by Lucy Ruth Cummins (Atheneum Books for Young Readers)


This year's finalists for the Cook Prize are:

Follow the Moon Home: A Tale of One Idea, Twenty Kids, and a Hundred Sea Turtles by Phillipe Cousteau and Deborah Hopkinson; illustrated by Meilo So (Chronicle Books)
Journey: Based on the True Story of OR7, The Most Famous Wolf in the West by Emma Bland, illustrated by Robin James (Little Bigfoot an Imprint of Sasquatch Books)
Solving the Puzzle from Under the Sea: Marie Tharp Maps the Ocean Floor by Robert Burleigh, illustrated by Raúl Colón (Simon and Schuster)
Whoosh!: Lonnie Johnson's Super-Soaking Stream of Inventions by Chris Barton, illustrated by Don Tate (Charlesbridge)


About the Irma Black Award

The Irma Simonton Black and James H. Black Award for Excellence in Children's Literature (Irma Black Award) goes to an outstanding book for young children—a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing and enlarging on the other to produce a singular whole. The Irma Black Award is unusual in that children are the final judges of the winning book.

About the Cook Prize

The Cook Prize honors the best science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) picture books published for children aged eight to ten. It is the only national children's choice award honoring a STEM book.

blog comments powered by Disqus