Page Links

New York State Certification Exams

What exams do I need to take?

Exam requirements depend on what certification you are seeking. 

What are the teacher certification exams?

Candidates who are applying for certification must take and pass:

  • the Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  • the edTPA-by subject area (Early Childhood, Elementary Education, Special Education)
  • multi-subject CST- by developmental level (i.e., Early Childhood, Childhood).*
  • revised CSTs (Content Specialty Tests)-by subject area (i.e., Literacy, Special Education)

* Note that there are four Multi-Subject tests available for four different grade levels. Each Multi-Subject test has three parts. Part Three is shared by all four Multi-Subject tests; therefore, if you are seeking more than one Multi-Subject certificate, you only need to pass Part Three once.

More details can be found on the website for the New York State Certification exams.

This list reflects recent changes made to certification requirements as of March 2017.

What are the leadership certifcation exams?

  • the Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  • School Building Leader (SBL)
  • School District Leader (SDL)

How do I register for the exams?

Exam registration and information is available at

How can candidates prepare for the teacher certification exams?

The New York State Education Department has distributed frameworks for the exams, as well as preparation guides. You can find these documents below and at NYSTCE Test Frameworks and NYSTCE Preparation Guides.

You can also find additional test prep resources from Bank Street in the Tk20 Document Room. See the box on the top right for accessing these materials.

Teacher Certification Exams

To receive a New York State initial certificate for teachers in most NYSTCE fields, candidates are required to achieve passing scores on the Educating All Students (EAS) test, edTPA, and the Content Specialty Test(s) (CST) in their area of certification. Additional resources for the tests listed below are available in the Tk20 Document Room. See the box on the top right.

School Leadership Certification Exams

The NYSTCE program includes tests for school leadership (formerly administrator) certification. The purpose of these School Leadership Assessments is to help ensure that certified school- and district-level leaders have the essential knowledge and skills necessary to provide effective educational leadership in New York State public schools. Additional resources for the tests listed below are available in the Tk20 Document Room. See the box on the top right.

Safety Nets for New York State Certification Exams

New York State has put in place Safety Nets for certain teacher certification exams through June 30, 2017. Read more about these Safety Nets here: and they are described below.

If necessary, candidates may take advantage of multiple safety nets in order to meet the requirements for certification and will have until June 30, 2018, one year later, to meet all other certification requirements (i.e., coursework, state-mandated trainings, other certification exams). 

Students are encouraged to visit the Office of Teaching Initiatives website frequently to keep themselves abreast of all updates in regulations.

Note: the Safety Net for the edTPA has been extended through June 30, 2018 or until a new passing score has been established. The EAS Safety Net has been extended until the revised EAS test is operational.

Safety Nets

If you have any questions about the Safety Nets, please contact or Gretchen Adams,

  • Educating all Students (EAS)

    The Board of Regents has established a “Safety Net passing score” for the EAS. Your EAS performance will be evaluated using the Safety Net passing score. While the safety net is in effect those who receive a score of 500 or above will receive a passing score on this test.

    The EAS is being modified so that is assesses literacy skills in addition to candidates' ability to teach a diverse population. As a result, the safety net is being extended until the revised EAS becomes operational.

  • edTPA
    If you take and fail to receive a passing score on the edTPA, you may take and pass the ATS-W on or before June 30, 2018 (or until a new edTPA passing score has been established) in lieu of retaking and passing the edTPA. You may use the ATS-W if this exam was passed prior to May 1, 2014.
  • Content Specialty Tests
    Those who take and fail one of the redeveloped CSTs, will have the option of taking the corresponding predecessor CST (i.e., Safety Net CST) in place of retaking the redeveloped test. Note that if you have taken one of the redeveloped CST-MS tests, you must take all three parts first before being eligible for the safety net. Even if you fail only one part of the redeveloped CST, you are eligible to take the Safety Net CST-MS. This Safety net expires June 30, 2017.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are certification exams required for graduation from Bank Street?

No. However, Bank Street recommends you take advantage of the resources and supports available to you as a Bank Street student before you graduate.

How many students successfully complete the exams?

During the 2013-2014 year (7/1/13-6/30/14), 232 students took the Liberal Arts & Sciences Test (LAST) and 229 passed it, for a 99% pass rate. 219 students took the Multi-Subject Content Specialty Test (CST) and 215 passed it, for a 98% pass rate. 95 students took the Students with Disabilities CST and 94 passed it, for a 99% pass rate. 201 students took the Elementary Assessment of Teaching Skills – Written (ATS-W) and 200 passed it, for a 99.5% pass rate. 12 students took the Secondary ATS-W and 12 passed it, for a 100% pass rate. 17 students took the Educating All Students (EAS) and 14 passed it, for an 82% pass rate. 27 students took the Academic Literacy Skills Test and 18 passed it, for a 67% pass rate.

Please note that since the 2013-2014 year, the exams have changed.

Can I request alternate testing arrangements?

Alternate testing arrangements can be made for examinees with disabilities, including requesting additional time. Visit the NYSTCE site:

What happens if I don't pass an exam?

Through June 30, 2017 (or June 30, 2018 for the edTPA) New York State has put in place Safety Nets for certain NYSTCE exams. Read more about these Safety Nets here: