Center for Children’s Literature

The Cook Prize

Presented for the first time in 2012, the Cook Prize is named in memory of two ground breaking Bank Street educators – Don Cook of the Graduate School of Education, and Michael Cook (no relation) of the School for Children. In naming this award, Bank Street not only honors Michael and Don for their intangible contributions to the world of education, but encourages excellence in publishing informational books on STEM topics for elementary-aged children.

Our Mission

The Cook Prize honors the best science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) picture book for children aged eight to ten. It is the only national children’s choice award honoring a STEM book. The Cook Prize is administered with support from School Library Journal. The award is presented in May.

The Cook Prized Voting Form

If you have already registered to be a Cook Prize participant, please submit your votes by April 19, 2019. We hope you and your students are enjoying the books. Thanks so much again for your participation.  Remember, if one of your students makes an interesting comment or observation during the deliberations, please share it with us by April 30th.  We may end up reading it during the award ceremony which will take place this year on May 16, 2019 at approximately 10:45 a.m. Please check back later for the link to the livestream. Contact to send anecdotes and for questions.

For your planning, please know that the event will be live streamed.  You will be able to watch with your students on line.  You will be able to access the program afterwards as well in case you want to share it with your class at a later date.

Voting Form

2019 Cook Prize Semi Finalists

Counting on Katherine
Semi Finalist
Fossil by Fossil
Semi Finalist
If Polar Bears Disappeared
Semi Finalist
Nothing Stopped Sophie
Semi Finalist

Cook Prize Semi Finalists

  • Counting on Katherine by Helaine Becker; illustrated by Dow Phumiruk (Christy Ottaviano Books, Henry Holt and Company)
  • Fossil by Fossil: Comparing Dinosaur Bones by Sara Levine, illustrated by T.S. Spookytooth (Millbrook Press/Lerner)
  • If Polar Bears Disappeared by Lily Williams (Roaring Brook Press)
  • Nothing Stopped Sophie: The Story of Unshakable Mathematician Sophie German by Cheryl Bardoe; illustrated by Barbara McClintock (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

2018 Cook Prize Winner & Honor Books

Beauty and the Beek

Honor Book

Honor Book

Honor Book

Cook Prize Ceremonies

The Cook Prize Seal Design

This short YouTube video from The Cook Prize 2012 presentation features author/illustrator Brian Floca describe the process of designing the seal.