Annual BSCAA Awards Honor Exceptional Bank Street Alumni

Dean Cecelia Traugh speaks at the podium during the 2019 Alumni AwardsOn May 7, Bank Street College Alumni Association (BSCAA) announced the recipients of its annual Alumni Awards, a tradition that celebrates outstanding alumni for their contributions and dedication to the field of education. Six awardees will be honored at a ceremony in Spring 2021, which will bring together award winners and their families and friends as well as Bank Street alumni, faculty, and staff for a special celebratory evening at the College.

Every year, the awards are presented to exceptional alumni who carry out the mission, beliefs, and practices of Bank Street College through their work. This year, the BSCAA Recognition Awards were presented to Ron Azoulay, GSE ’04, founding partner of Khamsa Group, LLC, and Carolyne Quintana, GSE ’08, executive director of the Affinity Schools NYCDOE Citywide Office. Princess Francois, GSE ’15, assistant principal at Math, Engineering, and Science Academy in Brooklyn, was honored with the Recent Graduate Award and former BSCAA President Jim Clay, GSE ’88, early childhood educator and adjunct professor at The City University of New York, was honored with the Distinguished Service Award. Martha Andrews, GSE ’08, and Sasha Wilson, GSE ’12, founding co-directors of Bronx Community Charter School, received the Ida Karp Award.

“We are inspired by the remarkable work of our graduates who have practiced Bank Street’s philosophy throughout their careers to bring to life the College’s mission to improve the education and lives of children, their families, and communities,” said Cecelia Traugh, Dean, Bank Street Graduate School of Education. “We look forward to gathering next year to celebrate our honorees’ achievements and hear more about their journeys.”

Due to COVID-19, the awards were announced virtually through an email to the alumni community and on the Bank Street website. Biographies showcasing the achievements of this year’s awardees can also be accessed online.

To learn more about the 2020 award recipients, click here.