The Irma Black Award & Cook Prize

Center for Children's Literature logo

Thursday, May 10, 2018
9:30 AM UTC - 1:00 PM UTC

The Irma Black Book Award

The Irma S. Black and James H. Black Award for Excellence in Children’s Literature goes to an outstanding book for young children – a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing the other to produce a singular whole.

The Cook Prize

The Cook Prize honors the best science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) picture book published for children aged eight to ten. The Irma S. Black Award and the Cook Prize are unusual in that children are the final judges of the winning books.


9:30 am – Breakfast (lobby)

10:00 am11:30 am Event (auditorium)

12:00 pm – Lunch (Room 612/613)