Page Links

Censorship Bibliography

This bibliography was compiled by CCL director Cynthia Weill as a resource for attendees of Who Are You to Say? Children's Literature and the Censorship Conversation. It includes resources authored by and suggested by our conference panelists and moderators. It is by no means comprehensive and will be updated periodically.

A birthday cake for George Washington: The problem with banishing books. (2016). Retrieved January 22, 2016, from http://ncac.org/a-birthday-cake-for-george-washington-the-problem-with-banishing-books/

Bertin, J. (2016). So, people disagree. Is this a problem? School Library Journal. Retrieved from http://www.slj.com/2016/02/opinion/debate/recalling-ufd/so-people-disagree-is-this-a-problem-up-for-debate/

Bluemle, E. (2016). Turning diversity flare-ups into opportunity. Publishers Weekly ShelfTalker. Retrieved from http://blogs.publishersweekly.com/blogs/shelftalker/?p=17762&utm_source=Publishers+Weekly&utm_campaign=cc093980ff-UA-15906914-1&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0bb2959cbb-cc093980ff-305387705

DeCandido, G. Words with Pat R. Scales. American Library Association. Retrieved from http://www.ala.org/offices/publishing/editions/meettheauthors/editionspatr

Geter, H. & Aiello, A. (2016). Truth and solutions: Roundtable on equity in children's and young adult book publishing. PEN America. Retrieved from http://www.pen.org/panel-discussion/truth-and-solutions-roundtable-equity-childrens-and-young-adult-book-publishing

Lau, W.D. (2009). A dirty little secret: Self-censorship. School Library Journal. Retrieved from http://www.slj.com/2009/02/censorship/a-dirty-little-secret-self-censorship/

Marcus, L. (2008). Minders of make believe: Idealists, entrepreneurs and the shaping of American children’s literature. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co.

Older, D.J. (2016, January 29). The real censorship in children’s books, smiling slaves is just the half of it. The Guardian. Retrieved from http://www.theguardian.com/

Scales, P. (2010). Weighing in: Three bombs, two lips and a martini glass. Booklist Online. Retrieved from http://www.booklistonline.com/Weighing-In-Three-Bombs-Two-Lips-and-a-Martini-Glass-Pat-Scales/pid=4341541

Scales, P. (2009). What makes a good banned book? The Horn Book. Retrieved from http://www.hbook.com/2009/09/choosing-books/horn-book-magazine/makes-good-banned-book/#_

Scales, P. Does censorship matter? RHI: Censorship & Banned Books, 27-30. Retrieved from http://www.randomhouse.com/highschool/RHI_magazine/pdf3/Scales.pdf

Shaik, F. (2007). Writing Melittle. PEN America. Retrieved from http://www.pen.org/nonfiction-essay/writing-melitte

Shipler, D. (2016). Books, parents, schools and hidden defeats. The Shipler Report. Retrieved from http://shiplerreport.blogspot.com/search?q=Highland+Park

Shipler, D. (2015, November 6). Ban before reading. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com

Smith, M. (2014, November 30). End of school’s ban on books does not mark last chapter. The Texas Tribune. Retrieved from https://www.texastribune.org

Sutton, R. (2016). Whips and chains. The Horn Book. Retrieved from http://www.hbook.com/2016/01/blogs/read-roger/whips-and-chains/#_