Page Links


The Josette Frank Award

The Josette Frank Award has been given annually since 1943. From 1943 to 1997 it was called the "Children's Book Award." Josette Frank, the editor of anthologies for children, served for many years as the Executive Director of the Child Study Association of America of which this committee was a part. This award for fiction honors a book or books of outstanding literary merit in which children or young people deal in a positive and realistic way with difficulties in their world and grow emotionally and morally.

The Flora Stieglitz Straus Award

The Flora Stieglitz Straus Award was established in 1994. It honors Flora Straus who led the committee for many years. The award is presented annually for a distinguished work of nonfiction which serves as an inspiration to young people. Flora Straus stood for the values of courage, hard work, truth and beauty, while adapting to a changing world. She believed that books about varying cultures enrich and help all children in their growth. She championed diverse opinions and points of view. She was a person of high principles, unfailing courtesy and deep understanding, and was an inspiration to all who had the privilege of knowing her.

The Claudia Lewis Award

The Claudia Lewis Award, given for the first time in 1998, honors the late Claudia Lewis, distinguished children's book expert and longtime member of the Bank Street College faculty and Children's Book Committee. She conveyed her love and understanding of poetry with humor and grace. The award is given for the best poetry book of the year.

Children's Book Committee's 2017 Awards Presentation and Interviews with Our Winners! Courtesty of KidLit TV.

Past Award Winners