Page Links

The Cook Prize

2018 Cook Prize Winner and Finalists

We are thrilled to announce the winner of the 2018 Cook Prize!


Beauty and the Beak: How Science,Technology and a 3D-Printed Beak Rescued a Bald Eagle
by Deborah Lee Rose & Jane Veltkamp (Persnickety Press)

The 2018 Cook Prize Semi-finalists Are:
Grand Canyon by Jason Chin (Roaring Brook Press)
The Hidden Life of a Toad  by Doug Wechsler (Charlesbridge)
Karl, Get Out of the Garden!: Carolus Linnaeus and the Naming of Everything by Anita Sanchez, illustrated by Catherine Stock (Charlesbridge)

Voting is closed for this year!

Registration is closed for this year.

2019 Cook Prize

Registration for 2019 will begin in a few months. 

KidLit TV will livestream this year's Thursday, May 10th event from 10:00 - 11:30.   Check back for the url in a few days.   

To see last year's ceremony go to:

About the Award

Seal designed
by Brian Floca

The Cook Prize honors the best science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) picture book published for children aged eight to ten. It is the only national children's choice award honoring a STEM book. 


Cook Prize finalists are chosen from a list of sixteen STEM books included in the Children's Book Committee Best Books of the Year.

A panel of judges comprised of two math/science faculty from the Graduate School of Education, two teachers from the School for Children and two distinguished Bank Street alumni will narrow the field of sixteen to four.

Following the same format as the Irma Black Award, third and fourth grade teachers and librarians are invited to read aloud, discuss and encourage students to vote for their favorite STEM book of the finalists.


Presented for the first time in 2012, the Cook Prize is named in memory of two ground breaking Bank Street educators - Don Cook of the Graduate School of Education, and Michael Cook (no relation) of the School for Children.

In naming this award, The Cook Prize, Bank Street not only honors Michael and Don for their intangible contributions to the world of education, but encourages excellence in publishing informational books on STEM topics for elementary-aged children.

The Cook Prize Seal Design

Click here for a short video from The Cook Prize 2012 presentation featuring author/illustrator Brian Floca on the process of designing the seal.