Page Links

Irma Black Award

About the Award

    Award Seal designed by Maurice Sendak
Award seal designed
by Maurice Sendak

The Irma Simonton Black and James H. Black Award for Excellence in Children's Literature (Irma Black Award) goes to an outstanding book for young children - a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing and enlarging on the other to produce a singular whole. The Irma Black Award is unusual in that children are the final judges of the winning book.

The award will be presented this year on May 18th at a breakfast ceremony at Bank Street College. 

Help choose the 2017 winner!

Ready to send in your class votes? Use this voting form (by April 20th please!)

This year's finalists are:

Quackers written and illustrated by Liz Wong (Knopf Books for Young Readers)

The Night Gardener written and illustrated by the Fan Brothers (Simon and Schuster)

Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion written and illustrated by Alex T. Smith (Scholastic Press)

A Hungry Lion or a Dwindling Assortment of Animals written and illustrated by Lucy Ruth Cummins (Atheneum Books for Young Readers)

Join first and second grade readers around the world in choosing the 2017 Irma Black Award Winner and Honor Books. Registration is now open.