Center for Children's Literature Blog

Announcing the Irma S. and James H. Black Awards and Cook Prize Winners!

This year’s Irma Black winner is:

7 Ate 9

7 Ate Nine by Tara Lazar; illustrated by Ross MacDonald

This year’s Irma Black Honor Books are:

How the Cookie Crumbled Sparkle Boy After the Fall
How the Cookie Crumbled by Gilbert Ford Sparkle Boy by Lesléa Newman; illus. by M. Mola After the Fall by Dan Santat

The winner of the 2018 Cook Prize is:

Beauty and the Beak

Beauty and the Beak:  How Science, Technology and A 3D Printed Beak Rescued a Bald Eagle by Deborah Lee Rose and Janie Velkamp

This year’s Cook Prize Honor Books are:

Grand Canyon The Hidden Life of a Toad Karl, Get Out of the Garden!
Grand Canyon by Jason Chin The Hidden Life of a Toad by Doug Wechsler Karl, Get Out of the Garden! by Anita Sanchez

An award ceremony will take place on May 10, 2018 from 10:00 – 11:30 AM in the Tabas Auditorium at Bank Street College. Keynote speaker will be author/illustrator Laura Vaccaro Seeger.  Register Now

For a live stream of the event on May 10th go to

The program will begin at 10:00 AM.