Center for Children's Literature Blog

Category: Young Reviewers

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – May 2020 Pick

Mario and the Hole in the Sky is a picture book that tells the life of Dr. Mario Molina, a chemist that found that CFCs were destroying the ozone layer and helped stop them from destroying more of the ozone layer. It’s a great book because it tells us the story of an important person that saved the world – and also teaches kids some science, which is important.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – April 2020 Pick

I liked the book. I like how the author went into Hector’s background and showed what kind of person Hector was and didn’t just dive into the march. I like how the author showed other perspectives and introduced secondary characters. It gave different views of the story.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – March 2020 Pick

Enemy Child is about a Japanese-American boy in World War II. His family was taken to the camps that Japanese people were put in after Pearl Harbor. What makes this book special is that it tells the story of the person, and it’s a real story. It gives his emotions of what he felt during that time. What I liked most about this book is the way he shares his feelings.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – February 2020 Pick

I absolutely adored this book. There are little to no young adult books about segregation in South Africa, and I was so excited when I learned the premise of the book. “When the Ground is Hard” didn’t disappoint or lower my expectations whatsoever and Nunn’s novel was an excellent example of storytelling while still displaying a point.

blog post of the astronaut who painted the moon.
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – January 2020 Pick

I loved this book. It was so cool! The astronaut, Alan, went to the moon, and then painted pictures of being on the moon with bright colors. This book is a non-fiction book; it happened for real! My favorite part of the book was the pictures and the footprints Alan’s boots left in the moon dust

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – December 2019 Pick

This book was different because it had NO WORDS! My mom and I made a story up of a dad and his son going on a fishing trip. They see a big whale in danger. The son says, “WE HAVE TO HELP!” So the dad and some other people save the whale. When the dad is swimming back, he looks tired, and so the son has to save him. In the end the whale jumps out of the water to say: “Thank you for saving me!”

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – November 2019 Pick

Our young reviewer has this to say about Louise Greig’s book “Sweep.” I like that Ed decides not to be in a bad mood and I also like that he thinks twice about his bad mood. I like the pictures because they are very beautiful with the hot air balloons and the fair.

Lenny's Book of Everything
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – October 2019 Pick

Lenny’s Book of Everything was inspiring and eye-opening. I particularly enjoyed this book because it highlights the love one experiences when being part of a family: sibling and mother love.

Polar Bear: Science Comics
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – September 2019 Pick

Filled with humor, this book shares the harsh realities of life in the arctic and how polar bears survive. One of young reviewers said, “It has good information with a lot of action. I like the parts about eating. How to eat a seal was funny and I didn’t know that walrus meat was tough.”

They call me guero - blog
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – August 2019 Pick

I found this book extremely fun and entertaining to read. Although the story was told through poetry, I was still able to get a sense of different characters, settings, and picture the descriptions in my head. The fast-paced poetry was an exciting and interesting platform of telling Güero’s story, and the conflicts were well explained.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – July 2019 Pick

Stefano liked the part when the mom and baby were walking around and found the library. When they first got there they first felt nervous and were confused, but the library became like a home to them where they felt happy, excited and smart, because books help you learn things and reading is awesome.

My Happy Year (blog2)
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – June 2019 Pick

My Happy Year is an amazing book in my opinion. You, yourself, might try reading it. It’s about a bluebird who was scared to fly away from her nest. Her brothers and sisters flew away first. Finally, she flew away. Then she saw that fall was coming. She saw some bluebirds migrating south, so she joined them.

Let-Er-Buck-blog
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – May 2019 Pick

When judges deprive African American cowboy, George Fletcher, of a rodeo victory, the spectators support him. This book has rhythmic prose, dynamic oil illustrations and extensive back matter. Stefano, our young reviewer, really liked the message – it doesn’t matter about your skin color, what matters is who you are and what you do.

Heart Body Mind blog
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – April 2019 Pick

A Heart In A Body In The World Author: Deb Caletti Annabell, 17, embarks on a cross-country run from Seattle to Washington DC in an attempt to outrun the pain from a terrible tragedy. Colorful illustrations and photos. Our Young Reviewer Says: A Heart In A Body In The World, by Deb Caletti, chronicles Annabelle […]

Titanosaur
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – March 2019 Pick

Titanosaur: Discovering the World’s Largest Dinosaur Author: Dr. José Luis Carballido & Dr. Diego Pol. Illustrator: Florencia Gigena In this fictionalized account of the discovery and excavation of the largest dinosaur yet found, excitement and wonder fill the pages. Colorful illustrations and photos. Our Young Reviewer Says: “Excellent book. It is different from other dinosaur […]