Center for Children's Literature Blog

Category: Young Reviewers

hear my voice blog post image
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – October 2021 Pick

This book needs to be read by everyone. This book will walk you through one of the hard realizations in life, and remind you to be grateful for what you have. I loved reading this book, because it made me really think.

Book Cover of Keeping the City Going
Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – September 2021 Pick

My favorite part was the people in the drawings. The drawings looked really good. I liked the part where they were cheering at 7 o’clock because it looks like fun to do with pots and pans and real instruments. I just used my voice to cheer out of my window.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – August 2021 Pick

The Great Godden is about finding the unexpected in the expected. At first, it appears to be a typical summer romance. Subtle foreshadowing from the narrator reveal that it may not be what it seems. The author’s integration of love, manipulation, and adolescence into familial and romantic relationships through the lens of one character is extremely well done.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – July 2021 Pick

Strong voice: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection of speeches by various people. Before each speech there is an introduction by Tonya Bolden that talks about who the speaker was and what was happening for the topic of the speech at that time. The book’s beautiful illustrations are by Eric Velasquez.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – June 2021 Pick

As someone who has read Gary Paulsen’s books since I was a kid, Gone To The Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood is a striking departure from his usual wilderness adventures.In this book, Paulsen relates his childhood experiences memoir-style while recounting various events that shaped him.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – May 2021 Pick

I like this book because its story can happen in real life, so I can feel like I’m in it without imagining. I like every part of the story line, especially the characters. The book is often hilarious and I wanted it to be so long it would never end.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – April 2021 Pick

This distinctive book of poetry tells the story of Henry Brown’s life. Brown was born into slavery.  As an adult, he escaped from slavery with the help of the Underground Railroad, by getting himself sent north in a wooden box.

Young Reviewers

Young Reviewers!

To be a Young Reviewer send an email with your child’s name, age, and book choice to youngreviewers@bankstreet.edu. We’ll send you a Review form and an Interest sheet. Reviews are due April 1.

Young Reviewers

Young Reviewers Wanted!

The Center for Children’s Literature is looking for some Young Readers to review our award-winning books! If interested send an email with your child’s name, age, and book choice to youngreviewers@bankstreet.edu. We’ll send you a Review form and an Interest sheet. Reviews are due April 1. Happy reading!

Young Reviewers

Young Readers to Review Our Award-Winning Books!

The Children’s Book Committee from the Bank Street College Center for Children’s Literature is looking for some Young Readers to review our award-winning books!

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – March 2021 Pick

Oil is an illustrated book written by Jonah Winter and illustrated by Jeanette Winter. It tells how oil is pumped up from deep underground and runs through pipelines that cross 800 miles of Alaskan wilderness, to ports and then onto ships.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – February 2021 Pick

What makes this book special is that almost everyone can find a story that they can relate to. I think that it is really important to have representation in books, and this book did a good job of representing a wide range of people.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – January 2021 Pick

I liked this book and liked how it teaches you that when you work together it makes things easier. I liked how the animals protect each other by being in big groups. I also liked how the author showed all the names of the different animals at the end of the book.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – December 2020 Pick

My favorite thing about this book is its message of hope, in the form of an adorable, affectionate cat, Maci. When the struggles of the war become too overwhelming, Maci is always there to provide comfort. She motivates her family to keep trying when they want to give up. Whenever she gets lost or separated from the family she never fails to find her way back to the people she loves.

Young Reviewers

Children’s Book Committee – November 2020 Pick

This book provides an invaluable perspective for younger generations on how the injustices faced decades ago are still applicable to today’s world. As a descendant of Japanese Americans who were forced into these internment camps, I had heard stories and seen pictures of what life was like there. However, I didn’t fully grasp the extent of the prejudices and trials faced daily.