Center for Children's Literature Blog

Announcing the Irma S. Black 2019 Winner!

We Don't Eat Our Classmates

The Center for Children’s Literature at Bank Street College of Education is thrilled to announce that We Don’t Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins (Disney/Hyperion 2018) is our Irma Simonton and James H. Black 2019 winner.

The three honor books are:

  • Stumpkin written and illustrated by Lucy Ruth Cummins; published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • Sun! One in a Billion written by Stacy McAnulty, illustrated by Stevie Lewis; published by Henry Holt and Company
  • The Wall in the Middle of the Book written and illustrated by Jon Agee; published by Dial Books for Young Readers

This year over 7,000 children in the United States, Canada, Europe, Asia, and the United Arab Emirates participated in the voting.

The winner and honorees will accept their awards on Thursday, May 16, 2019. The event is open to the public but an RSVP is required. Caldecott winner Brian Floca will be the keynote speaker.  If you cannot attend the ceremony, the event will be livestreamed by KidLit TV starting at 10:00 AM. You can view the event here after the event has taken place. #ibcook19