Book Awards

Coretta Scott King Award

Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

Ezra Jack Keats Award

The EJK Book Award is given annually to an outstanding new writer and new illustrator of picture books for children (age 9 and under) by the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation. A distinguished selection committee of early childhood education specialists, librarians, illustrators and experts in children’s literature reviews the entries, seeking books that portray the universal qualities of childhood, a strong and supportive family, and the multicultural nature of our world.

Pura Belpre Medal

Presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino culture experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

Awarded to an American publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States.  

Hans Christian Andersen Medals

International Board on Books for Young People.  

Children’s Book Committee, Bank Street College

  • The Josette Frank Award encourages the writing and publishing of books "for children and young people dealing realistically with some of the problems in the world."
  • The Claudia Lewis Award for the best poetry book for young readers.
  • The Flora Stieglitz Straus Award for non-fiction that "serves as an inspiration for young readers."

Caldecott Award

Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Indies Choice Book Awards

It used to be called American Bookseller's Association Book of the Year, then The Book Sense Book of the Year (BSBY) Awards, and now the Indies' Choice Book Awards. Presented each year to the book voted by members of the American Booksellers Association as the one they most enjoy recommending. 

National Book Award for Young People

Recognizes outstanding contributions to children’s literature.   

Boston Globe-Horn Book Award

Prestigious honors in the field of children’s and young adult literature. Winners are selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction.   

The Irma S. and James H. Black Award for Excellence in Children’s Literature

Presented annually since 1972, to a picture book selected by children (from a shortlist chosen by older children). Originally named in honor of Irma Simonton Black, a writer and editor of children’s books.   

Phoenix Award

Established 1985. Awarded annually to a book originally published in English twenty years previously which did not receive a major award at the time of its publication.

Newbery Award Books

Award to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American Literature for children.

Alex Awards

Given to 10 books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12-18. 

Best Fiction for Young Adults

List of significant adult and young adult books   

The Costa Book Awards

Before 1996, the award was known as the Children’s Novel category of the Whitbread Book of the Year. In 2006 it was re-named Costa Book Awards. It is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland. It has five categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book.

Printz Award

Award that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Margaret A. Edwards Award

Honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

Video, Audio, & Computer Software Awards

Andrew Carnegie Medal

Honors the most outstanding video productions for children.  

Odyssey Award

Award given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults.   

Children’s Notable Lists

ALSC's best of the best in children's books, recordings, videos, and computer software.

Hot Topic Awards

Gendered Reading and Non-Fiction

At present there are no notable awards for media geared towards boys. With this in mind, how does non-fiction factor into gendered reading?

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

Awarded to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book published in English.   

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18)

Stonewall Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award

Given annually to English-language works for children and teens of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered experience.  

Readers with Disabilities Awards

Schnieder Family Book Award

Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Literacy Standards

The Wilder Award may be of interest to students doing an author/illustrator study.

Wilder Award

Honoring an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.