Center for Children's Literature Blog

The Children’s Book Committee Awards 2018!

Invitation to ceremonyOn April 5th, the Children’s Book Committee celebrated its 2018 Children’s Book Awards. It was a very special day. Each guest received a copy of the Children’s Book Committee’s Best Books of the Year 2018







During the ceremony:

Madeleine Dunphy Kara Hagedorn
Madeleine Dunphy, publisher Web of Life Books accepted the non-fiction award for Hawk Mother: The Story of a Red-tailed Hawk who Hatched Chickens. Author, Kara Hagedorn accepted via video.
Cynthia Loh Nikki Grimes
Cynthia Loh, Vice President and Publisher of Bloomsbury Books accepted for poet Nikki Grimes. Nikki also accepted via video.
Renée Watson Renée Watson with young reviewers
Renée Watson accepted her fiction award in person and posed with some of the Committee’s young reviewers.

Bank Street Article
Publishers Weekly Article

For videos of the day go to:
Opening Remarks
Program Acceptance Speeches